Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Wiley-Blackwell Publisher Login
amazon logo
More Info


New from Oxford University Press!

ad

The Social Origins of Language

By Daniel Dor

Presents a new theoretical framework for the origins of human language and sets key issues in language evolution in their wider context within biological and cultural evolution


New from Cambridge University Press!

ad

Preposition Placement in English: A Usage-Based Approach

By Thomas Hoffmann

This is the first study that empirically investigates preposition placement across all clause types. The study compares first-language (British English) and second-language (Kenyan English) data and will therefore appeal to readers interested in world Englishes. Over 100 authentic corpus examples are discussed in the text, which will appeal to those who want to see 'real data'


New from Brill!

ad

Free Access 4 You

Free access to several Brill linguistics journals, such as Journal of Jewish Languages, Language Dynamics and Change, and Brill’s Annual of Afroasiatic Languages and Linguistics.


Book Information

   
Sun Image

Title: Pragmatic Perspectives on Language and Linguistics Volume I
Subtitle: Speech Actions in Theory and Applied Studies
Edited By: Iwona Witczak-Plisiecka
Description:

Speech Actions in Theory and Applied Studies, the first of the two volumes
of Pragmatic Perspectives on Language and Linguistics, brings together
twenty essays which critically examine linguistic action and explore ways
in which it can be accounted for. The articles presented in this collection
are all focused on “doing things with words”, but in most cases do not
subscribe to speech act theory in the tradition of John L. Austin and John
R. Searle. The linking thread through the volume is not a theoretical
commitment to one of the speech-act theoretical models, but the authors’
perspective on language as a means of action, how linguistic expressions
become effective in context and how this effectiveness can be explicated.
The papers represent different pragmatic approaches and varied levels of
expertise in the research area; among the authors there are eminent
linguists and philosophers, well established researchers, and young
beginners. The texts include purely theoretical discussions, case studies,
reports on research in experimental pragmatics, contrastive and corpus
studies, and considerations of the pedagogical implications of pragmatic
reflection on the nature of language. Without purporting to cover all
relevant topics, this variety reflects the complex character of linguistic
pragmatics and integrates studies which cross-cut other research fields.The
book is divided in three parts.

The seven papers gathered in the first part of the volume, “Speech Action
in Theory”, are concentrated on theoretical issues pertaining to speech as
a type of action with emphasis both on linguistic forms (e.g. fragments)
and theoretical commitments and particular theories’ explanatory power.

Part two, “Case Studies & Experimental Pragmatics”, includes reports on
research into irony processing in Polish and in English as a second
language, intercultural differences in interactions broadcast in the media,
power relations in doctor/patient interaction, and metaphors in media
discourse at the time of crisis.

Part three, “Pragmatics, Grammar, and Language Pedagogy”, contains five
essays, which explore both more “formal” pragmatics through analyses of
grammatical forms and the interface which the analysis of these forms share
with context-grounded research, and the practical implications of pragmatic
knowledge in language didactics.

This collection is supplemented by the essays gathered in volume two,
entitled Pragmatics of Semantically Restricted Domains.

Publication Year: 2010
Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing
Review: Not available for review. If you would like to review a book on The LINGUIST List, please login to view the AFR list.
BibTex: View BibTex record
Linguistic Field(s): Applied Linguistics
General Linguistics
Pragmatics
Issue: All announcements sent out by The LINGUIST List are emailed to our subscribers and archived with the Library of Congress.
Click here to see the original emailed issue.

Versions:
Format: Hardback
ISBN-13: 9781443817110
Prices: U.K. £ 54.99